Are You Ready For Evelyn Skye’s “The Crown’s Fate”?!

Standard

Mark May 16, 2017 on your calendar! The Crown’s Fate, one of my most highly anticipated sequels of 2017, will be available for your consumption. 

Read my review of The Crown’s Game here, then head over to Evelyn Skye’s website to enter for a chance to win an ARC of The Crown’s Fate!


Preorder your copy at Chapters/Indigo

Add it to Goodreads 

Truthwitch: A Witchlands Novel by Susan Dennard 

Standard

Witches, elemental powers, fierce battles, allies, enemies, truth, lies, epic journeys, and, oh!, so much more! 

Safiya is a Witch. A Truthwitch. She can tell a lie from a truth. Iseult is a Threadwitch. She can see the threadties that bind and threads that entangle lives together. 

In this world, Magic is bountiful. Witches of all Magicks are sought after for good and for evil. But this world is also cursed as the Wells that hold the Magic are dying or have been dead for too long. Warring countries try to survive without war, but the peace treaty that held them all at bay is coming to an end. 

This first instalment of Susan Dennard’s epic fantasy of The Witchlands was, simply put, Fantastic! The world building is wonderful, the characters of Safi, Iseult, Merik, heck, all the characters are so richly drawn you feel something for each and every one. Even lesser characters with fleeting appearances leave their impression. 

The book starts slowly but builds to such a wonderful, epic story you will be reaching for the next instalment. Friendship and the ties that bind, survival and the lengths some will go, and honour and the devotion to vows made are the cornerstones of this book. It is absolutely a must read! 

Goodreads link

Buy it @ Chapters/Indigo

Reco link

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

Standard


5 Gilded Crowns!!!

Vika is an enchanter from a small village on Ovchinin Island, Russia who has grown up with only her father to teach her the ways of a forgotten and forbidden power. Magic in Russia has been abandoned or so most have believed. But during a fiery lesson, the tsarevich and his childhood best friend, Nikolai, stumble upon Vika as she emerges impossibly from the flames and they realize that magic is indeed alive and well and beautiful. Soon their three lives become inevitably entwined in a dangerous and deadly game of magic and power that will have you confused, enthralled, and delighted. 

The Tsar invokes an age-old contest called The Crown’s Game to help save Russia. The Crown’s Game is a contest of magical skill in which the victor will become the Imperial Enchanter and most revered advisor to the Tsar. When Nikolai sees Vika in all her magical glory he falls under her spell even knowing that he is the other enchanter that will one day face her in a contest of magical wills. 

Evelyn Skye has written a sweeping tale full of the beauty that is Russia seeping with magic and secrets and hidden evils. Surprises and unexpected revelations and a unique story arc make this an absolute must read! 

This book is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Victoria Aveyard, and lovers of YA fantasy. This book is a surprising debut! It is magical, romantic, and so very beautifully written. Evelyn Skye describes Russia in such perfect detail and I can’t even explain how many times I gasped in surprise as elements of the story came to light that I could not have anticipated. Bravo! An utterly unique tale in a sea of YA books. And no. There is absolutely no insta-love! Thank you! 

Goodreads Link

Buy it! Chapters/Indigo 

Book Trailer by The YA Book Traveler

Ruined by Amy Tintera 

Standard

 Keep Your Enemies Close 

From HarperTeen, HarperCollins Canada

Release Date: May 3, 2016

Amy Tintera’s first book in a new YA fantasy series introduces you to Emelina Flores, a Princess of the Ruined realm who must save her sister from the clutches of a tyrant and murdering King. Posing as the betrothed to Prince Casimir, Em, infiltrates the castle to gather information on the whereabouts of her sister, Olivia and exact revenge on the King. What she didn’t bargain for however, was that the charismatic Prince would soften her resolve and cause her to question her mission.

To say this story was epic would be a gross understatement! Amy Tintera weaves a magical and exciting tale that had me enthralled from the very first chapter. There is no “insta-love” here! The romantic tension is palpable and the battle sequences are fierce and exciting. This story is not for the faint of heart though. Tintera does not shy away from doing what needs to be done to take this story to places that you can’t imagine. She brings to life characters so evil that the reader is willing to draw swords and dive into battle and characters so endearing you will wish that they were your own friends and protectors. This book also gives equal time to both male and female lead characters in a way that lends itself to be enjoyed by all. 

I’m still reeling from the final pages of Ruined and am confident that I will be nursing a significant book hangover for quite some time. Thank you Amy, for creating such amazing characters in a world that is believable and for ultimately  writing a story that transports the reader into this amazing and magical realm. And thank you for forcing me to wait for the next instalment in this monumental series!

5 Very Bloody Stars!

Goodreads Link

Buy it! Chapters/Indigo

Special thanks to HarperCollins Canada for the ARC!