Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Standard


OMG! Oh. My. Gemina! This second book in Kaufman and Kristoff’s Illuminae Files does not disappoint! Hanna and Nik are every bit as intriguing and complex and fantastic as Kady and Ezra. I don’t want to spoil it, but at 659 beautiful pages, Gemina is a bloody, heart-pounding, space adventure that will have you turning pages at hyper speed! More enemies, more destruction, more everything! Huge thank you to Penguin Random House Canada for the ARC! I can’t wait to purchase a finished copy! These books are not only fantastic reading but they are wonderfully laid out with inventive diagrams, schematics, and illustrations. You need The Illuminae Files on your bookshelf. ◾️◾️◾️◾️ing fantastic!
5 Galactic Space Stations! 🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀

Goodreads link

Buy it @ Chapters/Indigo 

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Parts One and Two by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne

Standard


The final chapter of the Harry Potter saga is perfect. And you will find no spoilers here. 

Over the course of almost twenty years, and through seven books, seven movies, a theme park or two, and all kinds of memorabilia, J.K. Rowling has gifted the world with the fantastical story of Harry Potter and his magical world. We have grown up with Harry and we fought the forces of a great and dark evil alongside him and his band of friends and followers to an epic and very satisfying conclusion. Now, Rowling in collaboration with playwright Jack Thorne and producer John Tiffany, has bestowed upon us this final chapter in Harry’s epic story. 

If Rowling gave readers anything through HP’s world, the one most important bestowal was the awakening our ability to tap into our most fantastic imaginations. Every Potter fan will undoubtedly be looking for her signature style and beautiful and magical way with the written word in this book, but since she did not write this PLAY, some may be sorely disappointed. I, however, was not disappointed in any way. 

The reasons I thoroughly enjoyed reading the script of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child are these: Rowling’s characters are here, Rowling’s world is here, and because she had laid such a complex and complete groundwork in her previous works, I was able to imagine and completely transport myself back into the world of Harry Potter. I didn’t need to be told again how Hogwarts looked or the specifics of each character because these details are already etched deeply in my memory. 

This script, and the stage play that it represents, is closure for fans. It gives us one final glimpse into Harry Potter’s world and a preview of what the stage play is. Nothing more. And I am perfectly fine with that. Sometimes authors carry their stories on far too long and the characters and storylines become tiresome and repetitive and outright boring. Rowling knew when to stop. She stopped when the world still loves Harry and the entire cast of characters. 

5 Stars for Gryffindor!


Reco app link 

Follow me on Reco, Twitter @NeedNewSpace

Goodreads link

Buy it link: Chapters/Indigo

The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapeña

Standard

Watch for this one on August 23, 2016! Forget The Girl on the Train. Toss out Gone Girl. The Couple Next Door is more thrilling and riveting than both!

Attending an evening with neighbours, Marco and Anne reluctantly leave their six-month old sleeping in her crib and take their baby monitor with them after the sitter cancels. Upset that neighbour, Cynthia, doesn’t want children present at the dinner party, Anne insists that they check on the baby every half hour. 

But when they return home, baby Cora has disappeared without a trace. And here begins Shari Lapeña’s expertly woven tale full of secrets, deception, and intrigue. It’s an absolute page turner. This thrilling book by Torontonian author Shari Lapeña will have you up all night just to find out what happened! And just when you think you have it figured out…the tale takes another wild turn…and then another… This one will not disappoint the most avid sleuth!

Clear your schedule and read it from start to glorious finish. 

Thank you to Penguin Random House Canada for the opportunity to read this one! 

5 Neighbourly Stars

Reco App Link

Goodreads link

Buy it link: Chapters/Indigo

How To Hang A Witch by Adriana Mather

Standard


Release date: July 26, 2016

Thank you Penguin Random House Canada for the Advance Readers Copy. 

5 Bewitching Stars!!!

Samantha Mather hasn’t had it easy. Ever. Bullied all her school days, Samantha’s only friend is her father. When he meets and marries Vivian, she is the perfect addition to their family and another champion for Samantha. Lately though, Samantha’s life has hit the rails again. Her father has slipped into a coma and Vivian, her usually supportive step-mother has turned on her. And to add even more stress, they must sell their New York home to pay for her father’s medical bills. Forced to move back to her father’s childhood home in Salem, Samantha is once again faced with ridicule and bullying at school. But this time it’s different. 

Samantha is a descendant of Cotton Mather. Cotton was a driving force against the Witches of Salem and the girls bullying Sam are known as “The Descendants”. They are descended from the witches that Cotton Mather helped put on trial. 
Samantha’s one friend, is a ghost that only she can see. But when Sam meets Jaxon, the son of her late Grandmother’s caregiver, close friend, and neighbour, Mrs. Merriweather she finally begins to trust in someone again. That is until people start dying and all evidence of the cause of the deaths point to her. Is her trust in Jaxon misplaced or is it an age-old curse that she may have unknowingly unleashed? 

An absolutely unputdownable read! Adriana Mather is a descendant of the Salem Witch Trials and The Mayflower herself. She has written a believable tale that is thrilling and obviously well researched. Think Witches of East End meets The Craft with a little Mean Girls seasoning. 

Goodreads Link
Buy it at Chapters/Indigo

Book Trailer http://www.ew.com/article/2016/06/30/how-hang-witch-excerpt-trailer

My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix

Standard


4 Demonic Possessions 

What do you do when your best friend gets possessed? Exorcise her of course!

In Grady Hendrix’s latest horror tale he takes twisted to new levels. Best friends Gretchen and Abby are an unlikely duo but stand by each other no matter what. Even a demonic possession. When nice girl Gretchen starts acting strangely after a party night at rich girl Margaret’s cabin Abby thinks that something terrible has happened to her and that she is repressing the memory. But the strangeness changes to evil and soon Abby is convinced that something more sinister is happening to her best friend. 

This one is a must read for horror fans! I loved Horrorstör and this one is another hit. 

Goodreads Link

Buy it link: Chapters/Indigo

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

Standard


5 Gilded Crowns!!!

Vika is an enchanter from a small village on Ovchinin Island, Russia who has grown up with only her father to teach her the ways of a forgotten and forbidden power. Magic in Russia has been abandoned or so most have believed. But during a fiery lesson, the tsarevich and his childhood best friend, Nikolai, stumble upon Vika as she emerges impossibly from the flames and they realize that magic is indeed alive and well and beautiful. Soon their three lives become inevitably entwined in a dangerous and deadly game of magic and power that will have you confused, enthralled, and delighted. 

The Tsar invokes an age-old contest called The Crown’s Game to help save Russia. The Crown’s Game is a contest of magical skill in which the victor will become the Imperial Enchanter and most revered advisor to the Tsar. When Nikolai sees Vika in all her magical glory he falls under her spell even knowing that he is the other enchanter that will one day face her in a contest of magical wills. 

Evelyn Skye has written a sweeping tale full of the beauty that is Russia seeping with magic and secrets and hidden evils. Surprises and unexpected revelations and a unique story arc make this an absolute must read! 

This book is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Victoria Aveyard, and lovers of YA fantasy. This book is a surprising debut! It is magical, romantic, and so very beautifully written. Evelyn Skye describes Russia in such perfect detail and I can’t even explain how many times I gasped in surprise as elements of the story came to light that I could not have anticipated. Bravo! An utterly unique tale in a sea of YA books. And no. There is absolutely no insta-love! Thank you! 

Goodreads Link

Buy it! Chapters/Indigo 

Book Trailer by The YA Book Traveler

The Outliers by Kimberly McCreight 

Standard


The Outliers by Kimberly McCreight

Wylie receives a frantic text message from estranged best friend, Cassie pleading for help. But Wylie has her own issues. Slight agoraphobia, major anxiety, and depression over the loss of her mother. With the coaxing and help of Cassie’s boyfriend, Wylie sets out on a road trip that will change her life forever. 

This first in Kimberly McCreight’s new series, is a fast-paced, mystery-thriller that had me wondering what and who The Outliers were. So, I’ll not spoil it for you. McCreight sets the stage for an epic story in this first book. While I did find the beginning a little slow to take off for me I absolutely enjoyed where she took the story and her writing is fabulous. Highly recommended for lovers of a good thriller. But one warning: CLIFFHANGER!

Enjoy!

Four Flaming Stars

Goodreads Link

Buy It Link: Chapters/Indigo