Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Standard

My thoughts on this amazing book!

Can you imagine the world as we know it ending in a heartbeat? Emily St. John Mandel can. And has. Beautifully. Realistically. Poignantly.

Mandel’s tale of a worldwide mass pandemic flu virus and its effect on the characters in her story is not only masterfully crafted and heart-wrenching, its premise is all too probable and terrifying. Told from the various points of view of an interesting, realistically flawed and endearing cast, Ms. Mandel transports the reader through time seamlessly and skillfully. The reader never feels lost and the story flows exquisitely.

Station Eleven has become my favourite book of 2014. I was not expecting to be moved so much by an apocalyptic story when lately they are all too common. In a landscape that has become filled with tales of zombie invasions and other dystopian/catastrophic-themed books, Station Eleven is perfectly unique. This one stands alone and Emily St. John Mandel should be so very proud of her work. Simply put, it’s brilliant.

What first grabbed me was that the opening scene is set in Toronto. As a native Torontonian it was great to immediately connect with the setting. What kept me enthralled and turning the pages was the writing. It takes a lot to move me to tears. I’m not one to get all red-eyed and sniffly from books or movies. But Station Eleven had me grabbing for the tissues on more than one occasion. Maybe it was the fact that it was my hometown that was a centre point of the siege but what I really think caused my reaction was that the writing allowed me to completely envision this pandemic and the events of the story actually unfolding. I became so immersed in the story that every possible emotion was pulled from the deep, dark places they hide within me. The entire novel played out like a movie in my mind. It was a feeling that I don’t often get from books anymore. It left me with a great sense of gratitude and fulfillment. I can’t say that about very many books. The message here is clear: Let’s not take it all for granted.

There is a scene around page 279 that had me utterly gutted. Raw. Beautiful. This book begs to be read and shared. I really hope you enjoy it as much as I did. It’s no surprise that it’s become my “Staff Pick” @chaptersindigo. Thank you Ms. Mandel for writing it.

5 Feverish Stars

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20170404-station-eleven?ac=1
Buy the book: Chapter/Indigo – http://www.chapters.indigo.ca/books/station-eleven/9781443434867-item.html?ikwid=station+eleven&ikwsec=Books&ikwidx=0IMG_0759.JPG

One thought on “Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Leave a Reply

